Working Groups

Meet our Working Groups

This Action consists of 5 working groups. Each member in TrANsMIT participates in at least one of the working groups according to their expertise, background and interests.

WG1  –  Knowledge integration and exchange

WG1 will inventory current knowledge of, and best practices to, TEA of CCUS and identify existing challenges. Support WG2 and WG3 in organising their knowledge exchange, in filling existing caveats and developing new knowledge. Exemplify existing and developed best practices through a worked example using MSc projects.

Leader: Monika  Vitvarova (Monika.Vitvarova@vscht.cz)

V-ce Leader: Ahmet Turan (ahmet.turan@yeditepe.edu.tr)

V-ce Leader: Farid Karimi  (farid.karimi@novia.fi)

 

WG2  –  Process modelling and simulation for CCUS

WG2 will systematically review approaches to process modelling and simulation of CCUS components aiming to establish the state-of-the-art and identify further development needs. Contribute to the development of an open-access database to be shared within the Action and with the wider CCUS community, which includes process models and publicly available experimental/pilot/demonstration results for validation. This objective will be achieved by coordination with existing and past research projects, the WG1 MSc theses, and engagement with industry.

Co-Leader: Matteo Gazzani (m.gazzani@uu.nl)

Co-Leader: Fariborz Shaahmadi (F.Shaahmadi@hw.ac.uk)

 

WG3 –  Techno-Economic Approaches for CCUS Assessment

WG3 will systematically review current TEA methodologies, benchmarks and key performance indicators aiming to establish the current state-of-the-art in TEA of CCUS. Harmonise and coordinate the further development of approaches to CCUS TEA that will be disseminated within the Action and to a wider audience. This will be achieved through coordination with existing and past research projects, MSc theses, and engagement with industry.

Leader: Shareq Mohd Nazir (smnazir@kth.se)

V-ce Leader: Daria Katla-Milewska (daria.katla@polsl.pl)

V-ce Leader: Simon Roussanaly (simon.roussanaly@sintef.no)

V-ce Leader: Alexandra Dudu (alexandra.dudu@geoecomar.ro)

 

WG4 –  Training, dissemination and engagement

WG4 will disseminate and promote the use of best practices to TEA of CCUS and discuss approaches to solving existing challenges with practitioners, academics, researchers and students from across the CCUS community. Promote best practices in TEA to the young generation of researchers and build capacity in the partner countries with a focus on ITCs. Bridge the gap between the different elements of CCUS chain and emphasise the value and benefits of using best practice  ex-ante TEA to underpin sound R&D and policy decisions. Engage with the general public to raise awareness and assess change in perception of CCUS over the duration of the Action.

Leader: Dawid Hanak (d.p.hanak@cranfield.ac.uk)

V-ce Leader: Hrvoje Mikulcic (hrvoje.mikulcic@fsb.hr)

 

WG5 – Life-Cycle Thinking in CCUS

WG5 will review recent developments on the application of LCA to CCUS systems, with specific regard to methodological aspects leading to harmonisation of analysis, such as (multi)functionality, long-term vision, system boundaries, biogenic CO2 and carbon footprint “negativity”.

Co-Leader: Beatriz Beccari Barreto (beatriz.beccari-barreto@list.lu)

Co-Leader: Mohammed Reza Ghaani (mohammad.ghaani@tcd.ie)